Documenting Teresa Carreño

Opera House (June 30, 1910)


Carreño appeared at the Opera House in Wellington, New Zealand as part of the Australasian 1910 tour. She performed Sonata in B Minor, op. 58 (Chopin, Fryderyk), Rondo, op. 51, no. 2 (Beethoven, Ludwig van), Vogel als Prophet (Schumann, Robert), Erl König (Schubert, Franz (arr. Liszt)), Concerto in B-flat Minor, with orchestral accompaniment on second piano (Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich), Romanza, E-flat, Barcarole, G Major, “Faussè Note” Etude (Rubinstein, Anton). Benno Scherek performed orchestral accompaniment on the second piano. Carreño performed on a Bechstein piano. Tickets were priced as follows: six, four, and two shillings. The concert began at 8:15 pm.


Review: Dominion, 1 July 1910, 8.
Concert Program: NZ-Wt: Eph-A-MUSIC-1910


Kijas, Anna


“Opera House (June 30, 1910),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed April 14, 2024,