Documenting Teresa Carreño

Saal der Singakademie (January 9, 1893)


Carreño performed with the Berlin Philharmonic in the sixth Philharmonisches Concert under conductor Felix Mottl who replaced Hans von Bülow that evening. She performed Piano Concerto no. 2, op. 12 in E Major (D'Albert, Eugen). The concert began at 7:30 pm. She performed on a Bechstein piano.


Announcement: Chicago Daily Tribune, 15 January 1893, 39.

The Musical Standard, 21 January 1893, 52.

Concert Program: D-Bpa


Kijas, Anna


The Musical Standard, January 21, 1893.

The sixth Philharmonic Subscription Concert, second cyclus, took place on the 9th inst., when Herr Felix Mottl was the conductor in place of Von Bülow who is resting from overwork. Madame Teresa Carreno d'Albert gave a grand performance of her husband's new Concerto in E which was only finished last summer. The composer conducted his own work. The orchestra, under the able direction of Herr Mottl, gave the Sinfonie Militaire in G major, composed by Haydn in 1794, the Overtures to "Tannhäuser" and "Bachanale," and Beethoven's Fifth Symphony. Jean Gérardy is to perform the Saint-Saëns Concerto for 'cello at the concert which takes place on the 23rd inst.





“Saal der Singakademie (January 9, 1893),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed June 21, 2024,

Transcribe This Item

  1. 1893_01_09.pdf


Document Viewer