Documenting Teresa Carreño

Saal der Singakademie (November 24, 1905)


Carreño performed with the Berlin Philharmonic under conductor August Scharrer. She performed Konzertstück for Piano and Orchestra (Cowen, Dr. F. H.), Piano Concerto no. 2, op. 23 (MacDowell, Edward), and Fantasie über ungarische Volksmelodien, S. 123 (Liszt, Franz).


Announcement: New York Times, 3 December 1905, X1.

Review: The Musical Times, 1 January 1906, 54.


Kijas, Anna


New York Times, December 3, 1905.

It will interest many admirers of Edward A. MacDowell in the present crisis of his health, recently made known, that some of his friends abroad are bestirring themselves to make his music more widely known. Mme. Teresa Carreno was announced to play his second concerto for the first time in Berlin on Nov. 24, with the Philharmonic Orchestra. This concerto is dedicated to Mme. Carreno, with whom Mr. MacDowell studied the piano at the outset of his career.

The Musical Times, January 1, 1906.

Madame Teresa Carreño produced an English novelty at her concert with the Philharmonic Orchestra. This was a Concertstück by Dr. F. H. Cowen, a melodius, beautifully written and effective work with which the brilliant pianist scored a great success. Dr. Edward MacDowell's 2nd Concerto, and Liszt's Hungarian Fantasia were also included in her programme.



“Saal der Singakademie (November 24, 1905),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed July 21, 2024,