Documenting Teresa Carreño

Carnegie Hall (November 26, 1909)


Carreño performed in a concert with the New York Philharmonic Society under conductor Gustav Mahler. She performed Konzertstück in F minor for Piano op. 79 (Weber, Carl Maria von).

The concert began at 2:30 pm. Ticket prices ranged from $0.75 to $2.00. Boxes cost $12, $15, $18.


AdvertisementNew York Tribune, 14 October 1909, 14.

AdvertisementNew York Times, 21 November 1909, 11.

Concert Program: US-NYcha



Kijas, Anna


New York Times, November 21, 1909.

Philharmonic Concert

Teresa Carreno will play the Weber "Concertstueck" at the two concerts which the Philharmonic will give next Thursday evening and Friday afternoon in Carnegie Hall. These will be the first appearances of the pianiste in New York this season. At the concerts Gustav Mahler will direct the orchestra in the Brahms D major Symphony and Dukas's "L'Apprenti Sorcier." In order to comply with the many requests for a repetition of the Bach suite, recently given at the first historical concert, it will be played again at both presentations of the last-mentioned programme.



“Carnegie Hall (November 26, 1909),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed July 21, 2024,