Documenting Teresa Carreño

Beethoven Rooms (June 23, 1869)


Carreño gave a concert at the Beethoven Rooms in London. She performed Piano Trio no. 1 in D minor, op. 49 (Mendelssohn, Felix) with Franz Ries (violin) and Hugo Daubert (cello), Sonata no.8 in C minor, op. 13 (Beethoven, Ludwig van), Rondo Capriccioso op. 14 (Mendelssohn, Felix), Polonaise (Carreño, Teresa), (unidentified) Romances (Gounod, Charles), Paraphrase de concert sur Rigoletto, S.434 (Liszt, Franz).

Doors opened at 12:30 pm. Tickets prices: 21s. near pianos; 5s. unreserved balcony; 3s. upper balcony and unreserved orchestra.


AnnouncementThe Orchestra, 18 June 1869, 193.

ReviewThe Orchestra, 25 June 1869, 212.


Kijas, Anna


The Orchestra, June 25, 1869.

On Monday Mdlle. Carreño gave a pianoforte recital at the Beethoven Rooms, assisted by Jules Lefort, Herr Ries, and Herr Daubert. The program included Mendelssohn's Trio, in D minor (op. 49), played by Mdlle. Carreño, MM. Ries and Daubert; Bethoven's [sic] Sonate Pathétique; Rondo Capricioso, Mendelssohn; Polonaise, Térèsa Carreño; Romances, Ch. Lévy and Gounod; Liszt's Fantaisie sur "Rigoletto," all played by Mdlle. Carreño; and a violin solo by Herr Ries, and a solo for violoncello by Herr Daubert. The room was well filled.



“Beethoven Rooms (June 23, 1869),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed February 24, 2024,