Documenting Teresa Carreño

Weber Music Hall (February 15, 1888)


Carreño appeared at Weber Music Hall in Chicago, Illinois. She performed Sonata for Piano and Violoncello (Saint-Saëns, Camille), Nocturne, op. 37, no. 1, Mazurka, op. 33, no. 4, Marche Funebre from Sonata, op. 35, Tarantelle (Chopin, Fryderyk), Andante in F (originally written for Sonata, op. 53) (Beethoven, Ludwig van), Romanza (Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich), “Juni” (Barcarolle), “Le Bal” (Valse) (Rubinstein, Anton), Staccato caprice (Vogrich, Max), Etude de concert (MacDowell, Edward), and Marche solennelle (Gottschalk, L. M.). Additional artists included Frederick Hess (violoncello), and W. I. M. Lanham (voice). The concert took place in the afternoon. Carreño performed on a Weber piano.


Review: Daily Inter Ocean, 16 February 1888, 4.
Concert Program: F-Pn: Music Department, Programmes–France–Paris–Société academique de musique sacré
Concert Program: VE-Ctc


Kijas, Anna


“Weber Music Hall (February 15, 1888),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed June 21, 2024,