Documenting Teresa Carreño

Chickering Hall (April 18, 1899)


Carreño appeared at Chickering Hall in New York City. She performed Toccata and Fugue in D Minor (Bach, Johann Sebastian (arr. Tausig)), Sonata Appassionata, op. 57 (Beethoven, Ludwig van), Two Studies: C-sharp Minor, A-flat, Nocturne in C Minor, Polonaise, op. 44, Waltz, op. 42 (Chopin, Fryderyk), Etudes symphoniques (by request) (Schumann, Robert), Chants sans paroles (Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich), Barcarolle in F Major (Rubinstein, Anton), and Polonaise in E Major (Liszt, Franz). The concert began at 3 pm.


Review: Musical America 2, no. 16 (22 April 1899): 6.
Concert Program: US-POtc: folder 14.11, Concert Programs


Kijas, Anna


“Chickering Hall (April 18, 1899),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed November 28, 2023,