Documenting Teresa Carreño

Queen's Concert Rooms (June 11, 1874)


Carreño gave a morning concert at the Queen's Concerts Rooms in Hanover Square, London. She performed the Quartet in B Minor for Violin [sic], Viola, and Violoncello (Mendelssohn, Felix), Sonate in G major, op. 30, for Piano and Violin (Beethoven, Ludwig van), Trio from “Il matrimonio segreto” (Cimarosa, Domenico), “Highland” Caprice; “La fausse note” Valse (Carreño, Teresa), Grand Duo sur “Les Huguenots,” for Piano and Violin (Thalberg, Sigismond, and De Beriot). Additional artists included Émile Sauret, (violin), Mademoiselle Nita Gaëtano (voice), Madame Patey (voice), Signor Garcia (voice), Signor Caravoglia (voice), Mr. Zerbini (viola), Monsieur Paque (violoncello), Herr Ganz (conductor), Signor Campana (conductor), and Mr. F. H. Cowen (conductor). The concert began at 3 pm. Tickets were priced as follows: Sofa stalls, half-a-guinea; unreserved seats, five shillings and half-a-crown.


Review: Athenaeum, 20 June 1874, 836.
Concert Program: US-POtc: folder 14.8, Concert Programs


Kijas, Anna



“Queen's Concert Rooms (June 11, 1874),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed June 13, 2024,