Documenting Teresa Carreño

Carnegie Hall (February 22, 1914)


Carreño performed with the New York Philharmonic under conductor Josef Stransky. She performed Piano Concerto in A minor, op. 16 (Grieg, Edvard).

The concert began at 3 pm.


Announcement: The Sun, 15 February 1914, 16.

Announcement: New York Times, 15 February 1914, X5.

Advertisement: New York Times, 19 February 1914, 18.

Review: The Evening World, 23 February 1914, 5.

Review: New York Times, 23 February 1914, 9.

Concert Program: US-NYcha



Kijas, Anna


New York Times, February 15, 1914.

During this week the Philharmonic Orchestra will be engaged in a tour through New York State. Under the direction of Mr. Stransky the orchestra will visit Smith College, Northampton, Elmira, Syracuse, Rochester, Jamestown, and Poughkeepsie. On this tour Mischa Elman will be the assisting soloist. The next New York appearance of the orchestra will be on next Sunday afternoon at Carnegie Hall, when Mme. Teresa Carreno will be the assisting soloist. She will play Grieg's concerto.


New York Times, February 23, 1914.

Philharmonic Concert. — Teresa Carreno Plays Grieg Concerto and a Schubert Symphony.

At the Philharmonic Society concert in Carnegie Hall yesterday afternoon Mme. Teresa Carreno, pianist, was the soloist. She played Grieg's Concerto. The other numbers were Gretry's Ballet Suite, orchestrated by Mottl; Schubert's Symphony in B minor, ("unfinished,") and Charpentier's Suite, "Impressions of Italy."

Mme. Carreno's playing of the Concerto may have lacked something of the brilliance and dash that are appropriate to it at certain places, but the principal content of the work, its musical feeling, received eloquent expression in her playing. Her conception of the work is along broad lines, and the healthy northern vigor of the work is never lost. Mr. Stransky's version of Schubert's Symphony did not depart far from the normal. It gave good expression to the fragile delicacy of the symphonic fragment, and yet did not lose sight of the sturdy quality that underlies it in common with all of Schubert's work. The Gretry-Mottl suite has been heard already this season, as has the colorful and agreeable "Impressions of Italy," by Charpentier.





“Carnegie Hall (February 22, 1914),” Documenting Teresa Carreño, accessed January 19, 2022,

Transcribe This Item

  1. 1914_02_23EvgWorld.pdf


Document Viewer